How to Quickly Resolve Your Colossal Blunders

Like a deck of cards, I am going to be fifty-two in the next several weeks. Yet, I was a teenager once again, because when I was watching Monday Night Football on ESPN, they announced that a trailer for the new Star Wars was going to be the halftime entertainment. Yessss!

Courageous yet anxious, I enjoyed the epic of the six movies so far. Now I am not a geek (most of the time,) or groupie, or over-the-top, but I was excited to begin a new chapter of this film.

The Promise Awaits

So I was lying in bed, relaxing, watching the end of the second quarter, ready to dazzle and amazed at what the Lucasfilm was going to show me. I was ready!

Then, I blink my eyes for one second and realized something was definitely skewed. As I was watching a Eagles linebacker destroyed Eli Manning, I looked at the bottom of their show and realize that it’s now in the third quarter about six minutes left to go. What? It’s not possible?

I fell asleep during the halftime and missed the entire Star War event entirely. Oh my God!

Resolute in Our Mission

Again, (I am exaggerating a little bit,) but at the same time, I thought about when I was working in sales and pondered on missed opportunities or radius chances that will never come again. How frustrating; how embarrassing; how forgetful.

How do we deal with these things sometimes when the playing cards that we have to fold immediately? In my book, even though the sting of the opportunity has escaped us, if we can still be:

  • Resolute in our mission and objectives without wavering
  • Positive with the opportunity that another chance will come very soon and we are going to clutch it tight and succeed
  • Let go of our baggage and concentrate on what’s ahead in the future, not behind like sore grapes

In such manner, even though I missed the chance to marvel at the next installment of Star Wars, I was determined that another will come soon. Sometimes, anticipation is actually a very good motivator.

Let's chat, shall we? Join the discussion...

